To be or not to be, to do or not to do?

This is a post about how to live.

The ancient oracle at Delphi advised those who entered to “Know Thyself”, and this is the aim of Yoga, which is all I know anything about and the basis of my blogging.

Yoga brings us to understanding of ourselves as consciousness, understanding of life as consciousness. Consciousness is life, everything in life is basically an event in consciousness (This subject is dealt with at great length in Robert Lanza’s book “Biocentrism“). Essentially consciousness is the unchanging state from which all change is known. It/Us in essence does not change, and must be differentiated from all that does change, including Mind. You are not your mind, not your thoughts/emotions/experiences, you are that which thinks/feels/experiences. This has to be understood clearly, and that is the task of yoga. This is what it means “Know Thyself” , it is the distinction between being and doing. That is the first task of life, to arrive at knowledge of the truth, for only when we have correct understanding can we we approach the second part of how to live, correct action. Self knowledge brings freedom, and that freedom has a responsibility. The all inclusion of everything as consciousness means that everything in my experience is a part of myself, my consciousness. So if I see hunger, injustice, suffering, then I am hungry, I am disenfranchised, I suffer, even if my mind tells me otherwise. As all suffering is a retreat from the truth, then my own realization cannot be complete until there is no more suffering in the world. Of course I could close myself off and live in a cave and hear no evil, see no evil and so speak no evil, but that is a state of separation from what is, separation from myself , for I am all things. I must “be in the world even if not of the world”, to do otherwise is to refuse to be fully human. Self realization leads inexorably to action and engagement with the issues of the day. This entails risk, even risk of being wrong, but for whatever reason this world demands it. A life committed to justice, truth, wealth, health, equality and liberty for all. There is only one truth, neither spiritual or material. A Yogi must do all s/he can do to lessen suffering wherever s/he is, and s/he is always on planet earth. Love and Peace, Nemir

About the naked human

the naked human is what we are underneath. When we shed our thoughts and look calmly in the mirror upon the light of the soul. Peace and Love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to To be or not to be, to do or not to do?

  1. I love the idea of the need for interaction with the world rather than a distancing that some people seem to feel is necessary for peace. Peace is external as well and I think inner peace definitely comes from seeking to bring peace outside of ourselves – there’s nothing that brings more joy : )

  2. Reblogged this on The Universe & Emma and commented:
    A really great piece on the need for interacting with the world, and bringing harmony to the outer as well as the inner.

  3. Good Nemir,…are you also posting this on facebook ?

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

