I Love My Ego

There, I said it, I love my ego. My ego, or sense of self, urges me to stop doing something and do something else. My ego lets me know where I start and I finish, it is my boundary, my definition, it allows me to have a relationship to life. Without ego, I would be lost, unable to distinguish me from anything else, unable even to have an attitude about something, to relate to it, to feel compassion, to love. Ego is a vital part of being human, those who have a well defined ego are able to apply themselves to the task in hand, are aware of themselves.
Where did all this negative press about ego come from? Its a scapegoat, ego takes the fall for our guilt over our presumed transgression over divine law. Its easy to blame egoism for all our troubles. But ego is just a healthy sense of identity, it can be used to do good or bad, to make judgments. We have absorbed the cult of non-ego from the “Spiritual Teachers”, but there is nothing wrong with a sense of oneself as a separate being, beautiful and authentic and unique , created or evolved by a mysterious intelligence, in a world inhabited by other beautiful and unique beings, aware of their individuality and their common identity.
It is an injured ego that seeks to hurt others, a starved ego that focuses only on its own gratification, it needs healing, not abandoning, and what does ego feed on? that energy called attention and love, loving attention heals and nourishes ego, makes it healthy and happy!
So, I love my ego.
monster-buddy1

About the naked human

the naked human is what we are underneath. When we shed our thoughts and look calmly in the mirror upon the light of the soul. Peace and Love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

